Insecure Writer’s Support Group – May

5b320-insecurewriterssupportgroup

 

In an attempt to progress into world of grown up writer I’ve been writing a business plan. It’s surprisingly cathartic to set out some goals with the (current) intention of sticking to them. Of course. It has also made me realise exactly how much work is involved.

 

Well, I knew that already. Putting it down in black and white however makes it more real. More huge.

 

I’m also having a lot of trouble getting past the end of this year. At the beginning of 2015 I am (keeping my fingers crossed) going to have a manuscript. What I want to do with that manuscript is another thing. I’m scared, so very, very scared. What I’m actually scared of I’m not entirely certain. It could be rejection, failure, or just the sheer amount of additional stuff that will be involved whether I pursue traditional of self publishing. Best just stick a chapter a week up on Wattpad because at least then my manuscript may actually get read. And I know I can do that.

 

I’ve not even considered the finance section. What? Someone will pay me to write? Ha! No way?

 

At the moment I don’t actually believe I can do it. I’m not even sure if I want to anymore. Don’t get me wrong I will always write and I will finish my current WIP because if I don’t something inside me will curl up and die. Beyond that…

 

…Think I’m going to have a hot chocolate and Baileys now. Thank you to Alex J. Cavanaugh  and the Insecure Writer’s Support Group for a chance to vent.

 

Did anyone else do a business plan before they were published? How ambitious were the goals you set for yourself and did you succeed?

 

On a positive note, today is the release date of the second book in the Tala Prophecy, Chasing Shadows.  Congratulations to Tia Bach.  I have my copy and will be posting a review on Friday.   In the mean time check out the cover below, or the links for more information.

Chasing_Shadows_Final_SFW

 

Website: www.tiabach.com

Blog: http://depressioncookies.blogspot.com

Buy from Amazon. com and Amazon.co.uk

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group – May

  1. Aloha Debbie,

    While I haven’t done a business plan, I have written outlines for my WIP (a la the Beat Sheet from “Save The Cat”

    Seeing my future thoughts laid out on 36 index cards really worked for me and makes completing my current WIP much less daunting.

    It may still read like poo, but like you said, if I don’t finish, something will curl up and die inside 🙂

    *Good Luck* 🙂

  2. I empathise with that! I’m terrified of finishing one of the novels I’ve started because then I might have to try and do something with it! Have you got beta readers lined up? I’d be happy to help x

    • Thanks Linda. I’m hoping to be ready to find some betas towards the end of the year. I’ll let you know when but wont hold you to it, as I know things change and reading someone else’s WIP can take a lot of time. Really thank you for offering though. When you do finish yours let me know and I’ll return the favour if you need.

  3. Wow, a business plan? Do writers NEED business plans? *gulps* Im so rubbish at that kind of thing 😦

    Ive kinda settled into the idea that i was too hung up on getting published (probably because people around me expected me to be) and now, I’m just taking it as it comes, trying to be more relaxed about the whole thing. I ended up where the pleasure to write disappeared, and i don’t want that 😦

    Good luck honey xx

  4. I feel you pain. When it came to my first book I had no plan at all, I just sent it off and straight away got to acceptances. The first publisher seemed a bit shifty and the second seemed great; however, he has since proved to be not so great. He did get my book publish but he does very little to promote it and I am pretty sure he is lying about the sales rates, because periods when I know the paper back has been purchased several times, because I purchased it from friends who wanted signed copies, he say’s no paper backs were sold. I would have been better to self publish I think, but didn’t because I wanted the reassurance of knowing my work was good enough to be accepted by a publisher. I think all you can do is take your time and research publishers. Ask other writers that they publish if they are good and how well they help promote their authors work.
    Also be sure you are ready. I got pushed into publishing to soon by well meaning friends and family who thought that my own lack of confidence was what was holding me back. Sadly it wasn’t and I knew that and that I was holding back because I didn’t feel I had the book quite right, but I allowed them to push me forward anyway. As a result, I am not as happy with my first book as I could have been and it has made my confidence levels even worse. So yeah, take your time, be sure it is what you want and talk to other authors who are published. I wish I had.

  5. When it comes to publishing the trick is to take one step at a time and just breathe. It probably does feel overwhelming if you think about it all at once. Not that I’ve published a novel yet, but I’ve at least self-pubbed an anthology, so I’ve been through the physical process and had a launch day etc. However, my novel will feel much more personal and I’ll be really sensitive about how it’s received! Like Vikki said, you have to remember why you’re writing in the first place, and don’t lose touch with the joy to create. Hope this helps? Thanks for popping by my blog, and nice to meet you via the IWSG!

  6. I’ve heard several people advise to write out a business plan, and the more I think about it, the more tempted I am to do it. I think there’s a lot of power in writing out your goals so you can see them on paper. I think it makes it more concrete, giving you something to work with and for.

    Anyway, I commend you for your commitment! You’ll get that MS written and it will be wonderful!

  7. I’m not sure if this is the kind of thing you want to hear or if this is even the kind of place you’d like me to put this.

    Back in the day (I laugh) I read your posted work on a website you’re no longer posted to. I loved everything you wrote. The thought of you publishing your work and getting paid for it is fantastic. I know I would be interested in buying.

    A business plan seems like a great place to start. I can’t offer advice, but I can let you know that I’m an avid supporter and I wish you the best of luck.

    • Ah, back in the day! Were you on Fictionpress? Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and leave some encouragement. If I ever do get lucky I’ll let you know. Is email ok? if not let me know.

      • I was on fictionpress. I went back to look for your stories the same day I posted my comment. I’m always excited when good authors start looking to publish! E-mail is great. Not sure how to privately share my e-mail address with you though.

Leave a Reply

