Insecure Writer’s Support Group – March

 

Austen

 

Um, Yes. It is.  Putting aside her style, the contribution she made to English Literature, and the fact that she wrote what she wanted despite the requests of the Prince Regent it would be very hard.  A few ago I visited Jane Austen’s house in Chawton and saw where she actually wrote.  They wouldn’t let me take a picture, but I’m really, really glad I went because this month I was  tempted to whinge about the ongoing saga of my study which is currently being used as a dumping ground for the decorating stuff.

Jane Austen shared a bedroom with her sister and wrote at a table in the room where the family received visitors. There’s a rumor that the creaking door was never fixed as it alerted Jane Austen to the approach of visitors so she could hide her manuscript.  It’s the sort of rumor that is fun to believe, at least it was until I considered how frustrating it would be to stop writing because you are expected to be polite.  With so many distractions I’m in awe of the fact Pride and Prejudice was ever finished.  Perhaps if it wasn’t for all her pesky neighbours we would have more books. Or perhaps the books we do have wouldn’t be nearly as funny?

Given what Jane Austen accomplished without a study, privacy or a lap top I can hardly complain about having to clamber over paint pots.  Time to stop whinging and knuckle down.

How is everyone else finding March? And if you wish to share visit Alex J. Cavanaugh (one day I will remember how to spell his name without checking!) at  the Insecure Writer’s Support Group.

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group – March

  1. Neat story! I enjoyed that. I guess I should be super thankful for my peace and quiet, my laptop, and my writing desk. LOL

    IWSG #268 (until Alex culls the list again or I goof and get myself deleted. :P)

  2. While I’m not the biggest fan of Jane Austen, I still do enjoy and like her stuff, and I definitely admire what she did in a world that was not forgiving of her and her talents.

    Love the attitude you took away from it! But seriously, without a keyboard, it would have taken me twenty years to write my first novel. Can you imagine doing it by hand?

    Then again, i would definitely think scenes out better, and choose my words more carefully, if I didn’t have a delete button.

  3. i haven’t read Jane Austen yet. But I grew up writing in a room I shared with my sister, and at the kitchen table…maybe why I can write so much now, while two unschoolers might be up at any hour, with pets, hometending, TV, and life…

    I had great early training in dealing with distraction. I’m guessing that Jane did, too!

Leave a Reply

