Insecure Writer’s Support Group – December

Before starting their blog did any one put much thought in to what type of blog they wanted to write, or did they just decide to give it a go and see what happened?

This blog is a tiny bit of both. I read a great many books and articles (most of them free) about author platforms and how to use a blog etc. But I was procrastinating so much that in the end I just decided to give it a try and see what happened. When I manage to update regularly things go well and although I don’t get huge amounts of traffic I do get more than I expected. Recently though I’m having an identity crisis. This I think mostly comes down to my blog’s name. I don’t think it really matches my content anymore and that I should switch to a blog that makes it clearer who I am by entering the ‘insert your name’ writer category of blog.

Doing that though feels just a tiny bit frightening. Despite all the literature saying that I should I’m still not convinced that I will shift to wordpress.org as I also told myself I couldn’t justify doing it until I had got into the habit of regular updates all the time. But then it does seem stupid to switch to switch to a blog under a different name, and then switch to a blog with the same name again.

Is there anybody out there who may be in a similar position to me? Or who has more experience. Any advice or anecdotes would be appreciated.

As always a big thank you to Alex J. Cavanaugh for creating the Insecure Writer’s Support Group for allowing me to vent – and making sure I do update at least once a month.

10 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group – December

  1. I literally just write a post when I either feel like it or remember. Mainly it’s an update on how my writing is but sometimes I’ll write about something else. I didn’t have any thoughts about what I wanted my blog to be when I started out but it’s been something that has connected me to a lot of writers which has been invaluable.

  2. I’m still not sure about what kind of blog I want after doing this for 3 1/2 years, lol. I’m too squirrely to decide. I wish someone would just tell me what to do, hahaha 🙂

  3. I started off with the intent that my blog would have the loose theme of being about writing and reviews of more popular fiction than my own, with little bits of comedy and short stories here and there.

    I think a loose theme is best, as it gives you room to spread your wings, while giving a decent reflection of your personality and interests – which should be reflected in your fiction, meaning blog readers will have a decent idea of whether they’ll like your stories.

    Unfortunately I can’t offer advice on WordPress.org!

  4. I’ll add, my two cents: You don’t have to rush into anything. I did some of that same ‘free’ research about platform and despite all of that, I’m sticking with my blog on wordpress.com because my name is still broad enough. I’ve been with my blog for two years and have more followers than I ever thought I’d get pre-publishing. When I want to try something new I just let people know.

    Keep in mind, that just because you start a new blog with a new name doesn’t mean you’re old one disappears, you can keep them linked I believe, until you want to make a clean break. Of course, I don’t know how to do that exactly but it is possible. Be brave!

    • Thnaks for the advice. It’s reassuring to know there are other people out there who don’t feel the need to ditch their wordpress.com blog. I think I’m sticking with mine for the time being too.

Leave a Reply

