Insecure Writer’s Support Group – November

The lack of time is something that crops up frequently when I’m feeling insecure.  There is never enough of it.  The frightening thing is that I am not sure why that is.  I do work full time but I don’t have children and I’m not the most dedicated of house workers.

I’ve thought about this a great deal and I’m starting to worry that it’s me.  Am I too lazy? Am I not organised enough? And does any of that matter as I’m just not damn good enough anyway?

Thank goodness for National Novel Writing Month.  This November it’s been helpful to focus on a short term goal and to see a novel coming together after a month and a bit of planning.  It’s made me remember why I enjoyed writing so much in the first place.  More importantly it’s made me dedicate time to actually writing rather than worrying about the whole post writing things that occasionally overwhelm me.  (Finding Beta Readers, hiring an editor, getting a book cover design, learning to format, sorting out a website, promotion…Arrghh!)

Jamie Ayres’ IWSG post really inspired me this month.  She talks about her list of things she really wants to do, and although I have something similar it’s not quite as adventurous.  I have a list of novels I want to write.  Perhaps I need to pretend that there are more National Novel Writing Months, and get involved with Camp NaNo over the summer.

And apparently today is National Stress Awareness Day, so there’s a perfect excuse to bury my head in the sand and just concentrate on what my fingers are doing right now rather then becoming obsessed with all the things I can’t control and have no need to do right now!   *Takes a Deep Breath*

Incidentally it is also National Sausage Week. Did anyone else know there was a National Sausage Week?

If you want to share the love visit Alex. J Cavanaugh’s blog to find out more

10 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group – November

  1. National sausage week! Brilliant – I had no idea! Not good news for pigs, I think. I’m glad to read you’ve remembered why you liked writing in the first place – it’s awful when you lose that feeling! I’ll go and check out Jamie Ayres post now because I could do with some encouragement!

  2. I hear ya. I don’t have anyone dependent upon me. I remember those days when I juggled much more and was much more productive. My motivation and energy seem to be disappearing. So either it’s not you or you’re not alone. Actually, either way, you are not alone.
    Time is challenging for everyone.

    Keep faith, Debbie.
    xoRobyn

  3. You sound like a busy, woman! If you would ever want to share your opinion on NaNoWriMo, we are looking for a writer giving their opinion on it in a short aritlce. If you are interested and can find time in your busy schedule it would be great if you would want to write something?

  4. That’s wonderful that NaNoWriMo inspired you. I find that I spend quite a bit of time in my head formulating where my story is going. So if you’re not getting as many words down on paper as you like, maybe that’s because your creative mind is in overdrive. A good thing! And right now, are you thinking what I’m thinking? Kicking back with a sausage sandwich, maybe in front of the TV watching a favorite DVRed show tonight in honor of pro-sausage and no stress?
    –December IWSG co-host

  5. Oh my gosh! So sorry I’m late to comment! I googled my name to see if a particular news story popped up (nothing criminal, lol) and I found this. What a nice warm fuzzy to see I encouraged you. Thanks for your kind words ❤

Leave a Reply

