Studying Pink

A while ago I wrote about writing stories for my niece and how I found it challenging.  Taking some advice from Tanya, I spent a family bbq with burying plastic bears in a sandpit.  Although no stories as such came from this I did take a step on the way to making my world a little bit more pink.

Everything about my niece is pink, from the clothes she wears to the toys she plays with. However, even with out this she would exude a natural pinkness that just comes from her innocent interaction with the world.  She is surrounded by people who love and care for her and that makes her happy and fearless in her explorations.  Covered in my own defensive layers of cynicism I have never, since my own childhood, fully appreciated what it means to be a true fairy tale heroine before.

Inevitably, I am now going to try and make my world a little bit more pink.  Not too much of course as I also enjoy delving into the darker colours on the spectrum, the almost black purples, the navy blues and greens like old thick bottle glass.

However, pink has its place and I found one of my own when my paperback copy of Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor was delivered, although not to my own address.  In the last five years I have moved houses more times than the Littlest Hobo and my amazon account reflects this.  When ordering the book that I had been gagging for since I finished The Daughter of Smoke and Bone I failed to choose the right delivery address and it went to my mum’s house.

Now I’d already prolonged the purchasing of this book as hardbacks take up more space and are harder to read in the bath (even with their dust jackets removed) and therefore there had been a steady growth of excitement as the release date of the paperback approached.  Then I had a text from my mum saying an Amazon parcel had arrived for me.  Then I waited until my birthday when my mum was visiting anyway, and then, with the book finally in my hands I made a conscious decision to finish the book I was reading before delving back in to the word of angels and chimera.  Why? Because the childlike excitement of knowing the book is there, having it, holding it and appreciating the promise of a new adventure makes me feel undeniably pink.

Now I’m finding that pink is everywhere. All that is really needed is to take the time to appreciate it.

So what makes you feel pink?

7 thoughts on “Studying Pink

  1. Kids make me feel pink. Too much pink annoys me, as I was never a Pollyanna, but I like the tone of this post, as we can all strive to make our own world a little more ‘pink’.

    Good for you! Also, did you change the blog? It looks fantastic, either way!

    • Not changed it recently – Thanks though. Yes I know what you mean,. too much pink is not a good thing. I could use a little mor ethough as I am turning into a grumpy old woman these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

