Insecure Writer’s Support Group and ROW80 check in

After two weeks the hallway is still not decorated. This may be due to both my boyfriend and I having full time jobs, or it may be because my boyfriend is a perfectionist with a paint brush. Either way there has not been much writing this week.

Sorry, Round of Word 80 goals.

 

Has everyone else had more luck this week? And if you think you can do better and want to try head over to Kait Nolan’s blog.

Consequently there are a great many things I feel insecure about this month.

Kindly, Alex J. Cavanaugh, secret Ninja of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, has given me a chance to share.

However, I’m too angry and tired to give in to them just at the moment.  In a previous post I wrote about a colleague leaving work, and how his manager praised his professional accomplishments.  When I imagined what my manager would say about me when I left it was the realisation that I wanted her to be congratulating me because I’d bagged the book deal at the end of the rainbow.

And to rehash another previous post, if that doesn’t happen that’s fine.  I want to write, I will write and I will continue to love it.

At least I will when the hallway is finished!

Bring it on.

So how is everyone else this month? I’ll be off to check up on you in a moment, but in the mean time please share below.  

12 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group and ROW80 check in

  1. Aw. Sorry you’re feeling down. 😦 …Life has kept me from my goals lately, so I can relate to the slump. Maybe once the painting and decorating are done and you get back into your routine, things will look brighter.

    August co-host and IWSG #110

  2. Why does decorating always take so long? I get a bit frustrated when things are in the middle – a bit like writing. I love the beginning and the end, but that all important middle part gets me every time.

  3. Yes, I’m just the same. Borth with writing and decorating. It’s only the first room in the flat we’ve tackled too. We’ll have to share tips for getting through the middle of our projects.

  4. Debbie,

    When life hands me lemons….

    I give them to my son.

    He finds some sugar, adds some water, and magic happens!

    Which is to say that when life needs you more than writing, it’s OK to reduce or set aside those goals for a bit, and, well, LIVE.

    Eventually, the durned thing will be painted, and you can get on about your writing…have faith, and trustthat your brain is still playing with ideas.

    And, here, have some of Jeremiah’s fresh lemonade. It’s really tasty! =D

  5. Don’t you hate it when real life gets in the way? I do. If I had it my way, I’d be able to write whenever I wanted.

    But then I think I might start to hate it. 🙂

    • I do have a love hate relationship with real life at the moment.
      Yeah, if I could do nothing but write I’d also have to take up another hobby, if only to make stand up occassionally!

Leave a Reply

