IWSG July

I recently left a comment on this blog post by Kristen Lamb, author of We Are Not Alone.   The prize, if my name was pulled out of the hat, was a critique of the first 20 pages of my novel. The subject of the post was about whether or not authors should leave reviews.

If you get to the bottom you will note that if I had posted this blog post last month than I would have got my name in the prize hat three times rather than just the once.  Well, even as I was writing that rather inane comment part of me was hoping to hell that I didn’t win.

Why?

Because the truth hurts, of course. And the truth from someone like Kristen Lamb. Ouch!

As a budding author I am constantly deluding myself about how good I am.  Part of it is simple survival skills. No one would ever finish anything without some ego to push us along, but part of it is (gasp) I genuinely believe that I can do this that I am getting there, that one day I could be a (double gasp) Kristen Lamb of this world.

Reading blog posts like hers, or thinking about the practical things like exactly how much it would cost to pay for a copyeditor, help to put the world back into shockingly clear perspective.

Oh, good lord, I have such along way to go! Help me!

Eventually I pulled myself out of a corner and decided that it still may be possible to end this month’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group (brought to you by Alex. J Cavanagh over at http://alexjcavanaugh.blogspot.co.uk/p/the-insecure-writers-support-group.html ) on a positive note.  What do I actually want from all this?

I want to write and I want people to read it.  I really want, as Kristen mentions, someone to care enough to send me an email telling me when my commas have wandered into the wrong place.  I want to write and I want to build a network of people I can share with. Not just the writing itself but the experience of writing and learning about writing.

And if, ten years down the line, my work has still not graduated from Wattpad hopefully I’ll be surrounded by friends who can buy me (virtual) drinks and tell me where my commas should actually be.

And the critique prize draw appears to be a regular thing on Kristen Lamb’s, so maybe I’ll try again next time.

Thanks guys, I appreciate you stopping by.

And for those of you who stopped by last month I have updated my Goodreads profile with all the books.  I haven’t started one yet as I need to finish the very funny Soulless by Gail Garriger first , but be assured my intent is there.

15 thoughts on “IWSG July

  1. Firstly (((((hugs))))) Debbie 🙂

    I hear you honey, i really DO!

    “And if, ten years down the line, my work has still not graduated from Wattpad hopefully I’ll be surrounded by friends who can buy me (virtual) drinks and tell me where my commas should actually be.”

    This is a great attitude honey, hold onto that and maybe one day, i’ll get the chance to buy you a real drink 🙂

    xx

  2. Geesh. What do you say to someone who has doubts, and that someone is, like, your hero, your inspiration, your idea of how YOU want to write when you grow up? It’s like listening to your size 3 friend complain about how fat she is.

    First I would say: “Shut up!” If you suck, then I REALLY suck!

    Second: You precious soul, you. How beautiful and humble you are, you wee little acorn, that you cannot see how someday you will be the mighty oak. It is all within you. A few seasons, a little rain, lots of light and care.
    It will happen.
    I am so glad to grow next to you, albeit in your dappled shadow.
    ~Just Jill

    • A bit of a mixed message there, but that comment really made me laugh. Thank you.
      And shame on you, you don’t suck at all. The structure of your MS is way better than mine, you have very cool characters and an amazing ‘voice’. Perhaps I should have said all that when I commented on your post? Anyway, consider yourself told 🙂

  3. I agree that we would never finish anything if we bogged ourselves down worrying about being any good. If I’d known how much of a mess my first drafts would be, I’d still be outlining them. That’s what crit partners are for, no matter how much it hurts to hear the truth.

    • Yes, my first drafts are always a mess! I wonder if everyone writes like that or whether there are super plotters out there who manage decent ones? Thanks for stopping by.

  4. No matter where we are, there’s bound to be doubts that we’re not good enough – I’d imagine even the top selling authors in the world have doubts over whether they’ve deserved their success.

    • Part of me hopes they do. It’s selfish but imagining them dealing with that reminds me that they’re just like us. I think that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

