IWSG February

Not much has been happening on this blog for the last two weeks.  It would be nice to say that without the updating I’d be doing more actual work on my WIP, but that’s not as true as I would like it to be.  I have been much less frantic though. Therefore although not much actual writing has got done more of my brain space has been available for untangling plot problems and the like.

My insecurity this month has been about this blog.  Lots of seasoned bloggers out there say that the way to success is to update religiously three times a week.  I’m starting to think that this may all be very well if a book is actually written, but that in my case constantly striving to update a blog is eating in to time that would be better spent on something else.

Of course, if I’m not updating keenly all the time does that mean I’ll start losing the precious handful of followers that I have? Hopefully not. I’d like to think that not constantly updating because I feel I must will lead to posts with better, less rushed content.  Plus, some of that extra time is going to put into reading other people’s blogs.  I’d like to have time to properly sit down and read Bel Anderson’s Sunday Snog and to read some of the stories at Loonyliterature.  Both of which I have been intending to do for ages.

This is what I’m hoping. But I’m still feeling a bit insecure about the irregular posting.

For more information on the IWSG head over to Alex J. Cavanaugh’s blog and share the love.

How is everyone else this month?

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “IWSG February

  1. Hi! Thanks for the mention! I feel exactly the same as you! I have 2 blogs and I’ve been trying to keep them going and also keep up with other people’s blogs, but it’s all time I can’t spend writing! With a day job, that writing time is precious 😦 The other day I was thinking to myself that all this networking is very well, but not if it stops me ever having a novel that I want to network about! I’m going to go for a more casual approach. Like you, I fear losing my followers, but I’m sure they’ll spring back into view – most people are reciprocal and pop over to read your blog if you read theirs. My IWSG was going to be about blogging, but I haven’t had time to write it, LOL! x

    • I know, it’s so hard squeezing everything in. I will look out for your IWSG post. I’m sure I’m subscribed to your other blog. Will go and double check…

  2. There you are! I had actually been waiting to hear from you and yours…if that answers your question about followers dissapearing. Frankly dear, once a week in my book is fabulous. I just don’t have time to read any more than that. Three times? Seriously? I might start to view you as the Schwan man and hide in the bathroom! Who has time to slog through all that? It’s a siren song to be sure–this blogging business. There’s this instant reward of being read–and I am always excited to see my stats climbing and read those delicious comments… It’s very cathartic, heart-warming and I do learn so much from everyone.
    So, for what it is worth, thanks for the posts, and the comments, and the support. I go to bed sometimes wondering if any of this is real… but then I know how lonely and isolated I would feel if I didn’t share in this blog-comraderie.
    Do what you think is best–and what works for you, your Majesty, and I shall remain a loyal subject regardless.
    Humbly and with sincere affection,
    ~Just Jill

  3. I don’t’ know how people balance it all. I’m in the revision process so blogging is not too challenging. But when I’m writing, yikes, it’s hard to keep up.

  4. I’m right there with you. I wonder how some people manage to be super bloggers and authors at the same time. I try to give myself permission to skip a posting here and there if I’m on a roll with my writing. To me, the book should come first. Blogging is what happens when I’m putting off revisions! 🙂

  5. Ugh, maintaining a blog. I never think I have anything to say. I’ve found participating in blog hops to be a big help. Not only does it force me to use my blog, but it also gives me a theme/idea to work with . Good luck!

  6. It’s so hard honey, I know exactly what you mean 😦

    I’ve gone down to blogging 4 days a week (from 7) and in April I’ll be going down to 3 days a week. It’s not so much my own blogging that eats into my writing time, it’s keeping up with all the other blogs I love to read. I’ve got to the stage now where I can’t follow back people who follow me, if I did I’d never do any writing 😦 The whole thing really makes me sad *sighs*

    There are only so many hours in a day honey, don’t bet yourself up, you can’t do everything 😉 (says the woman who tries to! Lol).

    Xx

Leave a Reply

