A Time Management Epiphany

This post is being written in the basement of my work’s office building.  Not as dark and dingy as you may think.  It’s a recreation room with walls segmented into mad colours, sofas, tables, a TV (thankfully not blaring out Breakfast, this morning), and me and my lap top. It’s 7.15 in the morning.

I will happily sleep in until eleven on a weekend, but my motto when it comes to my day job is get up, get in and get it over with. If I’m in early I can be gone by 4.

This pattern is also shared by a co-worker who, with the best will in the world, talks really far too much for 7am in the morning.  On the first day back in the office after New Year, suffering from the January Blues, I pulled into the car park and saw him striding in to the office. The thought of trying to organise my daily work load while he persisted in trying to draw me into a conversation that my brain wasn’t awake enough to process, I came down to the basement to hide. While I was down there I wrote out a blog post in my diary.   The next day I came back with my laptop.

It means that my work hours are reduced and consequently I don’t get as much flexi leave, but I am writing a good 200 – 300 words a day before anything else happens. Words that I’m writing before my back starts to ache from sitting too long, or my head starts to hurt from staring at a computer or before I get home feeling so completely drained that all I want to do is sit on the sofa eating ice-cream and watching Come Dine With Me.

The crazy thing is that I actually get excited about coming in to work now.  I have a great deal to thank my co-worker for, but I don’t dare too.  There is a real risk he would be understandably upset, but there’s also the possibility he’d come down here and join me.

How does everyone else sneak in a daily word count? Have you discovered a writing routine that has transformed the way you work?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Time Management Epiphany

  1. That sounds ideal! I’ve tried getting up an hour early to write in peace, but I’m soooooo not a morning person that it always makes me feel jaded by the middle of the afternoon. I’m still trying to find that perfect time, but I’ve been trying to have an evening routine so that chores and food are out of the way leaving me an hour to write between about 8 and 9. I hope you get to keep your basement to yourself!

    • It has taken me a while to settle into my writing time. I’ve always liked teh morning but feel guilty because I feel like I should be doing real life stuff first.

  2. Debbie,
    Thanks for sharing. I’m currently in my basement trying to write and elequent response while my two children upstairs are about to (I think) fall through the ceiling onto my head. They want goldfish. Not the swimmy-kind. The cracker kind.
    I write while being terrorized by the two barbarians upstairs, (I blame them for all typos) I steel forbidden minutes at a time while I am “doing the laundry”, I ignore my husband and hog the computer, or, if I drink enough coffee after dinner, I stay awake and have lovely long writerly sessions–which happen few and far between.
    Sigh. I just wrote a blog about it–if your interested. Called “Finding Time”.
    I found you on the IWSG. Nice blog, and nice to meet you.
    (You should buy your over-caffeinated co-worker flowers.)
    ~Just Jill
    http://jillhaugh.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

