Insecure Writer’s support Group – January

Am I wasting my time?

There’s a daunting amount of work that needs to be put into a novel and it’s hard to keep heading for the final product when it feels like there’s nothing to show for it. This month I feel like nothing I ever do will be good enough.  I’m not sure exactly who ‘my book’ has to be good enough for. It could be myself, or an agent, or the people who I hope will want to read it but lately I’ve been wondering if I shouldn’t just curl up and start watching Eastenders instead.

I’m suspicious that part of this feeling arises from not having some impartial feed back from other people who write. At the end of December I joined the SFF online workshop and I’m hoping to get a short story up just as soon as, well, I feel it’s good enough.

Hopefully some constructive criticism will make me see what I’m good at and where I still need work.

If you want to share your insecurities go to Alex J. Cavanaugh’s blog and sign up

Happy New Year!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s support Group – January

  1. Oh, I know that chucking it all in and going to watch TV feeling! I had given up on a ms recently, but when I re-read it a few weeks later, I really liked what I’d written. Maybe you just need a short break from it?

    • Normally I’d agree but I had a massively indulgent break over Christmas and New Year. I was actually glad to go back to work this morning becasue it means I’ll get back into a writing routine. I think making myself meet my daily word counts will hep me through it.

      Glad you liked your ms. I love that feeling of liking what you’ve written. Good luck in 2013x

  2. (((((Hugs)))))

    I think we all feel like that Debbie so you’re definitely not alone. Giving my stuff to people to read was one of the scariest things I ever did, but also one of the most useful 🙂

    Good luck honey!

    Xx

  3. Impartial feedback is key! That’s why I stick to my CPs with a few others who I’ve established a good exchanging relationship with. Also, I always keep in mind when receiving any feedback: read, take some thinking days (if I get a little upset), then read it again. And if I’m still upset, rinse and repeat. I haven’t had to repeat the process. Either they’re right and I agree with them, or they completely missed the point…which again, is something for me to work on, because maybe I wasn’t being as clear as I thought I was. Good luck!

  4. Keep working. And let us know more about what the SFF workshop is like once you get a story in. I’ve been working with critters.org for nearly two years now, and I’ve found it very valuable both to crit others and to have my own stuff critted.

    • Thanks for taking the time to stop by. I’ll let you know how I get on with SFF. If you fancy being nosey first hand though your first month on there is free.

Leave a Reply

