Word of the Week – Sod

In his master’s steps he trod
Where the snow lay dinted
Heat was in the very sod
Which the Saint had printed

                                                    Good King Wenceslas by John Mason Neale

‘Sod’ is the ground, specifically pieces of ground with grass growing on it.

At primary school I didn’t know this and always thought it was great fun to sing this carol because there was a rude word in it.  Of course, I wouldn’t be that childish these days.

2 thoughts on “Word of the Week – Sod

  1. He he he….I was never allowed to say “sod” when I was a kid, but then, when I was 10 we moved house and I was helping to pack. My nan wrote on a box “odds & sods” so that was it! I had to write on ALL the boxes that contained bits and pieces lol

    Xx

Leave a Reply

