Getting Connected

 

Two weeks ago I moved house and have been surviving without the internet ever since. It does feel like surviving as after the first four or five days I started to get twitchy. There is so much on the interent that was now just out of reach and things that were previously taken for granted, reviews on wattpad, emailing documents, uploading this blog, became military operations involving my smart phone and lunch time at work.

It made me wonder whether it was healthy to have so much of my writing life on the internet.  Virtually all the people in my writing circle are, well, virtual.  There’s not a single physical friend to be named (although my Dad likes some of it!)  It’s not for want of trying, but it could be that I’m the needy, desperate girl at the bar who will put it out for anyone. “You write! Oh, that’s just super, here have my email…”

Hopefully I appear much cooler online.  Or, at least, there’s the security of having time to edit myself before hitting the send button.

I have met some very amazing and talented people via my keyboard and I wouldn’t change that for the world. Plus it is so much cheaper to network online than it is to fork out the entrance fee for some of the writer’s conferences and courses that are about.  There is so much free information floating around which makes me reticent about spending money to learn the same things in a different way. Love goes out to Janice Hardy on Twitter.  The articles she posts are always favourites.

Still, it’s kind of sad that there’s no one to share a coffee with. So, inspired by the search for CritHarmony over at Poppy Writes a Book, I’m going to see if I can find some real life people to share writing with.  This is where the moving may help as the my new home is cosmopolitan enough to have a writer’s circle.   Then there are the NaNoWriMo write ins that will be happening across the country in November. This year is the year to get off my backside and try and make it to one of those.

There’re also some places I can go that won’t cost a bomb. If you’re near London, Spread the Word has some really useful events, some of which are even, gasp, FREE! The genre writing work shop they did last year was really indulgent and useful.  I just need to find more of those.

In order to do that though I really need to find me some Broadband…

 

2 thoughts on “Getting Connected

Leave a Reply

